Taking Back Sunday

Rock | 2018

Long Beach, New York-based Taking Back Sunday took the punk style of the existing Long Island music scene and made it more melodic and memorable, tapping into the intense emotions following the 9/11 terrorist attacks. Formed by guitarist Eddie Reyes (who is no longer with the band) in 1999, Taking Back Sunday today consists of Adam Lazzara (lead vocals), John Nolan (lead guitar, keyboards, vocals), Shaun Cooper (bass guitar), and Mark O’Connell (drums). Louder Now (2006) was the band’s breakout mainstream album, notably because of the popularity of its lead single “MakeDamnSure.” The album sold more than 900,000 copies and peaked at No. 2 on the United States Billboard 200, surpassing the band’s previous Billboard 200 peak in 2004 at No. 3 with their seminal LP Where You Want to Be. In 2010, the band released its eponymous album Taking Back Sunday (2011), followed by Happiness Is (2014), which reached No. 10 on the U.S. Billboard 200, and Tidal Wave (2016). The members of Taking Back Sunday are the youngest inductees in the Long Island Music and Entertainment Hall of Fame’s history.

Support The Long Island Music and Entertainment Hall of Fame